Board of Directors

Sébastien Couture, President

Director of Innovation, FilSpec, Inc. Quebec.

Expertise:  Yarn spinning. Intensive knowledge in textile synthetic fibers and filaments and innovative yarn design for various technical applications.

Dan King,Vice-President

Vice-President of Production and Research and Development, Davey Textile Solutions Inc.

Owner of Davey Textiles Solutions, a converter/distributor of 3M Scotchlite reflective material. Dan sits on many standards committees and currently chairs the CGSB 155.20 standard committee.  Dan has served on the board of directors for ITS for 8 years, holding the positions of both President and Vice President.

Justine Decaens, M.Sc.A, Treasurer

​Project Leader, CTT Group, Quebec.

Expertise:  Smart textiles, including lighting, heating and sensing conductive fabrics and thermal comfort (technologies and testing).

Vincent Deregnaucourt, Secretary

​R&D Project Manager, CTT Group, Quebec.

Patricia Dolez, P.Eng, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, University of Alberta.

Expertise: protective clothing, aging of materials, nanotechnologies, smart materials, and natural fibers.

Mazeyar Parvinzadeh Gashti, Ph.D.

Chief Scientist, Flex Structure, Kelowna, British Columbia.

Lena Horne, Ph.D.

Senior Scholar, Department of Biosystems Engineering, University of Manitoba.

Fellow, Institute of Textile Science

Although retired from the Department of Textile Sciences at the University of Manitoba in 2012, Lena continues to contribute to projects and organizations that promote research in textiles and flexible materials. Currently, she chairs three CGSB National Flag Committees - Outdoor Use, Indoor Use and One-Event Use.


Forrest Sloan, Ph.D.

Manager of International Marketing, Kuraray America Inc.


Expertise:  Application of high-tenacity fibers in high performance end uses.  Carbon, glass, aramid, HMPE, and LCP fibers, with focus on LCP fibers (Kuraray).  Ropes, cables, slings, webbing, fabrics, composites.  Recreational, industrial, military and aerospace markets.

Erhardt Schumann

Fellow, Institute of Textile Science


Past VP and past president of ITS.

Please reload

© 2018 by Cacith inc. for The Institute of Textile Science

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon