Untitled-1_edited_edited_edited.jpg

2021 Symposium Program

Image%202019-04-10%20at%206_edited.png
Image%202019-04-10%20at%206_edited.png

2021 Virtual Symposium

(March 9 and 10)

and

Annual General Meeting

(March 9)

Program

Gold Sponsor:  KRÜSS GmbH

Silver SponsorCSMO, Quebec

If you want to be a sponsor, please contact Patricia Dolez at pdolez@ualberta.ca

Note:  Those who register for the symposium will have access to recorded presentations after March 10 for a limited time period.

Tuesday, March 9, 2021

7:55 am MT     9:55 am EDT - Greetings from Lena Horne, President, Institute of Textile Science

Rapid Innovation 2020

 

8 - 8:30 am MT     10 - 10:30 am EDT

Bob Kirke, Executive Director

Canadian Apparel Federation, Ontario, Canada

8:30 - 9 am MT     10:30 - 11 am EDT

Response of a managed clothing solutions provider to COVID-19 PPE shortage.

Karine BibeauVice-President, Logistik Unicorp, Quebec, Canada

9 - 9:30 am MT     11 - 11:30 am EDT

Lessons learned from a pandemic.

Shirley Chan, Senior Director of Global Sourcing & Quality

ARC’TERYX Equipment, British Columbia, Canada

 

 

Student Presentations

9:30 - 10 am MT     11:30 - 12 pm EDT

Fabric selection process for the customization of brassieres (bras) suited to atypical breast sizes/shapes.

Bolaji, J. T. (Department of Human Ecology, University of Alberta), Krawchuck T., Dolez, P.I. 

Hand layup draping sequencing algorithm.

Basalda-Robledo F. (Mechanical Engineering, University of Ottawa) Kanz, P., Hoffer, J., Salles, F., Rannou C., Pupin, C. Robitaille, F.

10 - 10:30 am MT     12 - 12:30 EDT

Pause

Smart Textiles

10:30 - 11am MT     12:30 pm - 1 pm EDT

Close to what matters most:  Transforming care & wellbeing with textiles that sense & react.

Ilaria Varolli, Executive Vice-President, Myant Inc., Ontario, Canada

11 - 11:30 am MT     1 - 1:30 pm EDT

Smart textiles for health monitoring.

Amir Servati, PhD, Post-Doctoral Fellow, Department of Materials Engineering

University of British Columbia, Canada

11:30 - 12 MT     1:30 - 2 pm EDT

Making personal protective equipment safe and sustainable.

Thomas Willers, PhD, Head of Application and Science, KRÜSS GmbH

12 - 12:30 pm MT     2 - 2:30 pm EDT

Pause

12:30 - 1 pm MT     2:30 - 3 pm EDT

Development of contactless sensors for health and wellness monitoring - A new generation.

Justine Decaens, R & D Director

CTT Group, Quebec, Canada

Student Presentations

1 - 1:30 pm MT     3 - 3:30 pm EDT

Mathematical models describing the time-temperature curves of smart heating textiles.  

Shuvo, I. I. (Department of Human Ecology, University of Alberta), Decaens, J., Lachapelle D., Dolez, P. I.

Superhydrophobic and antiviral PDMS-AgNPs-cotton via W/O/W emulsion approach.

Venne, C. (Département de chimie, Biochimie et Physique, Université du Québec a Trois-Rivières), Saidi A., Nguyen-Tri P.

1:30 - 1:35 pm MT     3:30 - 3:35 pm EDT

Presentation by Aleksey Baldygin, PhD, Technical Consultant (Canada)

KRÜSS GmbH, Symposium Gold Sponsor

1:35 - 2 pm MT     3:35 - 4 pm EDT     

Networking - Chat with speakers

2 - 3:30 pm MT     4 - 5:30 pm EDT

64th ITS Annual General Meeting

...

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

PPE for COVID-19 Front Line Workers

8 - 8:30 am MT     10 - 10:30 am EDT

Improving the fit of home-made face masks:  An accessible, low-cost prototype with an individual seal.

Anne Bissonnette, PhD, Associate Professor

Department of Human Ecology, University of Alberta

8: 30 - 9 am MT     10:30 - 11 am EDT

Development of salt-functionalized filters for antimicrobial facemasks.

Ilaria Rubino, PhD, Research Assistant

Faculty of Engineering, University of Alberta, Canada

 

9 - 9:30 am MT     11 - 11:30 am EDT

Pathways to"Made in Canada" sustainable and biodegradable filter media for facemasks.

Gurminder Minhas, Managing Director

Performance BioFilaments Inc, British Columbia, Canada

Student Presentations

 

9:30 - 10 am MT     11:30 - 12 pm EDT 

Antiviral and biodegradrable nonwoven textiles for the protection against SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19).

Ladhari S. (Département de chimie, Biochimie et Physique, Université du Québec a Trois-Rivières), Saidi A., Nguyen-Tri P.

Fabrics incorporating silver and copper nanoparticles as antiviral agents against SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19). 

Vu N.-N. (Département de chimie, Biochimie et Physique, Université du Québec a Trois-Rivières), Saidi A., Nguyen-Tri P.

10 - 10:30 am MT     12 - 12:30 EDT

Pause

Textile Finishing and Functional Clothing

10:30 - 11 am MT     12:30 - 1 pm EDT

Development of antibacterial and antiviral materials for protective clothing.

Gang Sun, PhD, Professor

Biological and Agricultural Engineering, University of California, Davis, USA

11 - 11:30 am MT     1 - 1:30 EDT

Fluorine-free functional fabric finishes for obtaining outstanding oleophobicity.

Kevin Golovin, PhD, Assistant Professor

School of Engineering, University of British Columbia, Canada

11:30 - 12 pm MT     1:30 - 2 pm EDT

Networking - Chat with speakers       

12 - 12:30 pm MT     2 - 2:30 pm EDT

Pause
 

 

Student's Research Corner (Other Topics)

 

12:30 -1:30 pm MT     2:30 - 3:30 pm EDT

Impact of radiative exposures on mechanical properties of firefighters' protective clothing.  

Epp A. (Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Saskatchewan), Torvi D., Noble S., Batcheller J.

Comparison of bench-scale test methods for measuring heat transmission through wildland firefighters' personal protective clothing systems.

Kosareva, E. (Department of Human Ecology, University of Alberta), Batcheller J., Paskaluk S.

Effect of hydrothermal aging on high-performance fibers used in fire-protective fabrics.

Hoque, M.S. (Department of Human Ecology, University of Alberta), Saha A., Chung H.-J., Dolez, P. I.

A method to test the thermal stress management of fabrics using heated cylinders.

Asawo T. (Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Saskatchewan), Torvi D., Sumner D.

1:30 pm MT     3:30 pm EDT

Closing Remarks from Patricia Dolez, Vice-President, Institute of Textile Science

Print program:

 

© 2020  TEXTILE SCIENCE  All rights reserved.      Developed by Summum Marketing