top of page
Untitled-1_edited_edited_edited.jpg

ITS Symposium 2024 
Program

Image%202019-04-10%20at%206_edited.png
Image%202019-04-10%20at%206_edited.png
Image%202019-04-10%20at%206_edited.png

We’re happy to share the final program for ITS Symposium 2024. Check out the information below to see what’s planned so far. Feel free to reach out with any questions!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Program

Tuesday, March 5, 2024

7:45 - 08:00 am MT        09:45 - 10:00 am EST

Greetings from Dr. Matina Kalcounis-Rueppell, College Dean & Vice Provost of Natural and Applied Sciences, University of Alberta, and Prof. Michèle Bouchard, Vice-Dean, Research, Valorization and Knowledge Transfer, École de Santé Publique, Université de Montréal.

 

Innovation in Sustainability in Textiles and Apparel

 

08:00 - 08:30 am MT     10:00 - 10:30 am EST

The Canadian Green Textiles Strategy - Dr. Jacek Mlynarek, Executive Director, Canadian Textile Industry Association

08:30 - 09:00 am MT     10:30 - 11:00 am EST

Towards circular manufacturing strategies - mechanical transformation of textile waste: a new resource for composite bricks - Dr. Lucas Hof, Professor, Ecole de technologie supérieure

 

Panel Discussion

09:00 - 09:40 am MT     11:00 - 11:40 am EST

Challenges and Strategies for the Textile Supply Chain

  • Mr. Stéphane Drouin, Vice-président, Achat québécois et développement économique

  • Mr. Dan King, Vice-President, Production, Reserach & Development, Davey Textile Solutions

 

3- min Poster Presentations

 

09:40 - 10:00 am MT    11:40 - 12:00 pm EST

Networking Pause

 

10:00 - 11:00 am MT    12:00 - 01:00 pm EST

Poster session in Edmonton, Pause (lunch break) in Montréal.

Innovation in Sustainability in Textiles & Apparel (Cont'd)

 

11:00 - 11:30 am MT    01:00 - 01:30 pm EST

Circular textiles and innovation in cellulosic feedstock - Ms. Enrica Arena, CEO, Orange Fiber

Students' Research Corner

 

11:30 - 12:00 pm MT    1:30 - 2:00 pm EST

Emulsion Electrospun Crosslinked Fibrous Membrane for Water Purification - Pramod Manikant Gurave and Rajiv K. Srivastava. Indian Institute of Technology Delhi.

Characterizing the Thermal Protective Performance of Textiles Under Flame Exposure with Varying Intensities. Ishmam Zahin Chowdhury, Dr. Sumit Mandal, Dr. Adriana Petrova, Dr. Robert J Agnew, Dr. Lynn M Boorady, Dr. Emiel DanHartog, Shariful Islam Tushar. Oklahoma State University.

 

Networking Pause

12:00 - 01:00 am MT    02:00 - 03:00 pm EST

Pause (lunch break) in Edmonton, Networking in Montréal.

Students' Research Corner

 

01:00 - 01:30 pm MT    03:00 - 03:30 pm EST

Evaluation of haptic properties of textile fabrics by Syntouch and creation of an example box. Dr. Rupali, Adrian Lai, Patricia Dolez. University of Alberta.

 

Characterizing of Heat Transfer Performance of The Contaminated Flame-resistant Fabric: Implications for Health And Well-being of Oil And Gas Rig Workers. Shariful Islam Tushar, Sumit Mandal, Ishmam Zahin Chowdhury, Adriana Petrova, Lynn M. Boorady, Robert J. Agnew. Oklahoma State University

67th Annual General Meeting

 

01:30 - 03:00 pm MT     03:30 - 05:00 pm EST

Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Textile Science (ITS)

Reception

 

05:30 pm MT     05:30 pm EST

 

Edmonton Location: Ernest's, NAIT

 

Montréal, Location: Université de Montréal, Ecole de Santé Publique: room 3019 (3rd floor)7101, avenue du Parc, Montreal.

Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Military and Space Textiles

08:00 - 08:30 am MT    10:00 - 10:30 am EST

Aerosols: the challenge to protect -Dr. Scott Duncan, Section Head, Chemical Threat Defence Section, DG Science and Engineering, Suffield Research Centre, Defence Research and Development Canada / Government of Canada

08:30 - 09:00 am MT    10:30 - 11:00 am EST

Biometric clothing for clinical applications, defence, and aerospace –Mr. Pierre-Alexandre Fournier, CEO, Carré Technologies

Smart Textiles in Health Care

09:00 - 09:30 am MT    11:00 - 11:30 am EST

Smart Garments for Preventing Tissue Injury and Deep Vein Thrombosis – Dr. Vivian Mushahwar, Professor, University of Alberta

09:30 - 10:00 am MT    11:30 - 12:00 pm EST

Efficiency, Durability and Safety Test Methods for Smart Heating Textiles - Dr. Patricia Dolez, Associate Professor, University of Alberta

Networking Pause

 

10:00 - 11:00 am MT    12:00 - 01:00 pm EST

Poster Session in Edmonton, Pause (lunch break) in Montréal.

 

Fire protective Fabrics

11:00 - 11:30 am MT    01:00 - 01:30 pm EST

Transitioning the Fire Service to PFAS-Free Alternatives: Trade-offs in Exposure and Performance -Dr. Bryan Ormond, Assistant Professor, Wilson College of Textiles, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, USA

11:30 - 12:00 pm MT    01:30 - 02:00 pm EST

Manufacturing graphene-based end-of-life sensors for fire-protective fabrics - Ms Diana Yehia, Research & Development Associate, Davey Textile Solutions Inc., Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

Networking Pause

 

12:00 - 01:00 am MT    02:00 - 03:00 pm EST

Pause (lunch break) in Edmonton, Networking in Montréal.

 

Advanced Dyes and Pigments

01:00 - 01:30 pm MT    03:00 - 03:30 pm EST

Bacterial dyes for greener, UV-stable dyed textiles - Ms. Iris Redinger, Founder, Material Futures Lab & Dr. Ahmad Ibrahim, Researcher, CTT Group

01:30 - 02:00 pm MT    03:30 - 04:00 pm EST

Dyes & sustainable Coloration : Saving resources, re-cycling and up-cycling -Mr. Julio Carrillo, Marketing Executive, Archroma Textile Effects

Students' Research Corner

02:00 - 03:00 pm MT    04:00 - 05:00 pm EST

Thermal Effusivity Measurement of Sportwear Fabrics in the Wet State: Test Method Development and Result Analysis. Md Rashedul Islam, Farzan Gholamreza, Arya Hakimian, Adrian Lai, Robert Gathercole, Kevin Golovin, Patricia I. Dolez. University of Alberta.

Investigation of Microplastic Fiber Release on Hand-Washed Polyester. Amanuel Goliad and Dr. Kevin Golovin. University of Toronto.

Mind the Gaps: A Comprehensive Literature Review of Surf Wetsuits and Ensemble Accessories. Veronica Dalton and Dr. Meredith McQuerry. Florida State University.

Hydrothermal aging of PBO fabric – Effect of hydro condition and temperature. Rajitha Botheju, Md. Saiful Hoque, Patricia I. Dolez. University of Alberta.

Closing Remarks

03:00 pm MT    05:00 pm EST

Closing remarks from Patricia Dolez, President, Institute of Textile Science.

Lab Tour

 

03:30 - 04:30 pm MT

Tour of the PCERF lab (https://pcerf.ualberta.ca/) for attendees in Edmonton

Poster Presentations 

In Edmonton

  • Personalized Protective Clothing: The impacts of alterations on the safety and comfort of women’s fire protective clothing - Jemma R. P. Forgie and Patricia I. Dolez. University of Alberta

 

  • Development of Regenerated Cellulosic Fibre from Hemp Feedstock using an Eco-friendly Lyocell Process for Sustainable Textile Manufacturing. Md. Abu Sayed, Lelia Lawson, K M Abdun Noor, Dagem Zekaryas Haddis, Jane Batcheller, David C. Bressler, and Patricia I. Dolez. University of Alberta

 

  • Manufacturing Cellulose Pulp from Cotton Waste Garments for Lyocell Fibre Production. K M Abdun Noor, Lelia Lawson, Md Abu Sayed, Dagem Zekaryas Haddis, Jane Batcheller, David C. Bressler, and Patricia I. Dolez. University of Alberta

 

  • Under the microscope: Exploring the use of antimicrobial textile finishes. Jennifer Beaudette, Rachel McQueen, and Jelena Holovati. University of Alberta.

Locations

Montréal

Université de Montréal, Ecole de Santé Publique: room 3019 (3rd floor)

7101, avenue du Parc, Montreal.

Please note that parking is limited: use of the subway is suggested.

Edmonton

University of Alberta, Edmonton: room GSB 5-50

Remote
Zoom details will be sent to remote attendees a few days before the event

Print Program

bottom of page