ITS Symposium - 2022

(March 8 and 9)

and

Annual General Meeting

(March 8)

Preliminary Program

Tuesday, March 8, 2022

7:55 am MT     9:55 am EST- Greetings from Lena Horne, President, Institute of Textile Science

 

Nonwovens and their technical applications

8 - 8:30 am MT     10 - 10:30 am EST -

Advances in Nonwoven Technical Textiles and Personal Protective Fabrics, Dr. Gajanan Bhat, Professor, University of Georgia.

8:30 - 9 am MT     10:30 - 11 am EST -

The Diversity on Nonwoven Markets, Mr. Alex Alexis, Business Growth Manager North America, Alkegen.

 

Technical textiles for geotechnical engineering applications

9-9:30 am MT        11-11:30 am EST -

The many uses for technical fabrics in geotechnical engineering: Past successes and future challenges, Dr. Kerry Rowe, Professor, Queen’s University.

9:30 – 10 am MT    11:30-12 pm EST -

Displacements monitoring and leak detection in reinforced earth structures using geosynthetics with automated data acquisition, Mr. Stephan Fourmont, Business Development Manager, Afitex-Texel Geosynthetics inc.

Networking: Chat with speakers

10 - 10:30 am MT      12 - 12:30 pm EST- Chat session

10:30 – 11 am MT      12:30 - 1:00 pm EST- Pause

Panel Discussion

11 - 12 pm MT         1 - 2  pm EST - Insights about Human Resources in the Textile Industry.

                                                             

Panelist 1: Jodi Davey, Human Resources Administrator, Davey Textile Solutions.

Panelist 2: Sébastien Couture, Vice-President Innovation, FilSpec Inc.

Panelist 3: TBD.

12 - 12:30 pm MT     2- 2:30 pm EST- Pause

Student presentations

12:30 - 1:30 pm MT            2:30 - 3:30 pm EST -

Student 1: Cinnamon oil-loaded chitosan nanoparticle finish for preserving museum textiles, Ms. Ankita Shroff, The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, India.

Student 2: Blood Memory & Bush Tanning, Ms. Teresa Vander Meer-Chassé (Ddhälh kït Nelnah), Concordia University, Quebec. 

Student 3: Effect of Ultraviolet Radiation Exposure on Tear Strength by Trapezoid Procedure in Moisture Barriers Used in Firefighters’ Protective Clothing, Ms. Laura Munevar-Ortiz, University of Alberta, Alberta.

Student 4: Superhydrophobic PDMS-cotton via green W/O/W emulsion approach, Ms. Camille Venne, University of Quebec at Trois-Rivieres, Quebec.

Networking: Chat with speakers

1:30 - 2:00 pm MT         3:30 - 4 pm EST -  Chat Session  

 

Annual General Meeting

2 - 3:30 pm MT        4 - 5:30 pm EST - 65th Annual General Meeting

 

Wednesday, March 9, 2022

Energy-harvesting textiles and flexible materials

8 - 8:30 am MT          10 - 10:30 am EST -

 

Novel Materials and Fabrication Techniques for Wearable Energy Generation and Storage Devices - from Piezoelectric Fibers to Li-ion Threads, Dr. Maksim Skorobogatiy, Professor, École Polytechnique de Montréal.

8:30 - 9 am MT          10:30 - 11 am EST -

 

Recycling Human Energy via Infrared Textiles, Ms. Courtney OKeefe, Chief Supply Chain Officer, Hologenix, Inventors of CELLIANT.

Student presentations

9 - 9:30 am MT         11 - 11:30 am EST -  

Student 1: Sustainable Coloration of Cotton Fibers with Nanopolysaccharide Materials, Mr. Senay Yacob Baraki, Donghua University, China.

Student 2: Thermal insulation capacity of cold protective clothing materials in extreme environmental conditions, Mr. Mohamed Zemzem, University of Montreal, Quebec.

 

Networking: Chat with speakers

9:30 - 10 am MT         11:30 - 12 pm EST -  Chat Session  

10 - 10:30 am MT       12 to 12:30 pm EST - Pause

Next Generation of PPE/PPE innovation

10:30 - 11 am MT       12:30 - 1 pm EST -

Multi-material Extrusion-Based Manufacturing for Soft and Smart Materials. Dr. Dan Sameoto, Associate Professor, University of Alberta.

11 – 11:30 am MT       1-1:30 pm EST -

Sustainable development approaches and examples for PPE. Mr. Valerio Izquierdo, Vice-President Business Development and Partnership, CTT Group.

Networking: Chat with speakers

11:30 - 12 pm MT        1:30 – 2 pm EST - Chat session.

12 – 12:30 pm MT       2 – 2:30 pm EST- Pause.

Textile sustainability and Recycling

12:30 - 1 pm MT          2:30 – 3 pm EST -

 

Product Stewardship in the Textile Industry, Ms. Lauren Degenstein, Department of Human Ecology, University of Alberta/Davey Textile Solutions.

1 - 1:30 pm MT            3 - 3:30 pm EST - 

 

Radically Circular Materials, Ms. Myra Arshad, CEO & Co-founder, ALT TEX.

Student presentations

1:30 - 2 pm MT            3:30 – 4 pm EST -

Student 1: Effect of Air Gap on the Dry Thermal Resistance of Sportswear Fabrics, Mr. Md. Rashedul Islam, University of Alberta, Alberta.

Student 2: Letting Go Through Creating Assemblages of Paper, Debris, and Electronics, Ms. Tricia Enns, Concordia University, Quebec.

Networking: Chat with speakers

2 - 2:30 pm MT            4 - 4:30 pm EST -

Chat session.

2:30 pm MT                 4:30 pm EST -

Closing remarks from Patricia Dolez, Vice-President, Institute of Textile Science.