top of page
Untitled-1_edited_edited_edited.jpg

ITS Symposium 2023 
Program

Image%202019-04-10%20at%206_edited.png
Image%202019-04-10%20at%206_edited.png
Image%202019-04-10%20at%206_edited.png

ITS Symposium 2023

(March 7 and 8)

and

Annual General Meeting

(March 7)

Program

Tuesday, March 7, 2023

07:45 - 08:00 am MT     09:45 - 10:00 am EST

Greetings from Prof. Rhonda Breitkreuz, Chair, Department of Human Ecology, University of Alberta, and Prof. Carl Ardy-Dubois, Dean, École de Santé Publique, Université de Montréal.

Technical Textiles in Composite Materials

08:00 - 08:30 am MT     10:00 - 10:30 am EST

Electrospinning of polymer blends and conductive nanocomposites, Prof. Nicole Demarquette, École de technologie supérieure, QC

08:30 - 09:00 am MT     10:30 - 11:00 am EST

Presentation title to be announced soon, Mr. Nicolas Juillard, Textiles Monterey, QC

 

Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)- Medical

09:00 - 09:30 am MT     11:00 - 11:30 am EST

Rechargeable Potent Anti-Viral Cotton Grafted with a New Quaternized N-Chloramine, Prof. Song Liu, University of Manitoba, MB

09:30 - 10:00 am MT     11:30 - 12:00 pm EST

Presentation title to be announced soon, Dr. David J. Proctor, International Antimicrobial Council, USA.

Poster Session/Networking/Pause

10:00 - 11:00 am MT     12:00 - 01:00 pm EST

Poster session in Edmonton, Pause (lunch break)  in Montréal.

Panel Discussion

11:00 - 11:30 am MT     01:00 - 01:30 pm EST

Challenges and opportunities for the textile business/industry - Textile education/training

Students' Research Corner

11:30 - 11:45 am MT     01:30 - 01:45 pm EST

Speaker and presentation title to be announced soon.

11:45 - 12:00 pm MT     01:45 - 02:00 pm EST

Speaker and presentation title to be announced soon.

Poster Session/Networking/Pause

12:00 - 01:00 pm MT     02:00 - 03:00 pm EST

Pause (lunch break)  in  Edmonton, Poster session in Montréal.

Students' Research Corner

01:00 - 01:15 pm MT     03:00 - 03:15 pm EST

Speaker and presentation title to be announced soon.

01:15 - 01:30 pm MT     03:15 - 03:30 pm EST

Speaker and presentation title to be announced soon.

66th Annual General Meeting

01:30 - 03:00 pm MT     03:30 - 05:00 pm EST

Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Textile Science (ITS)

...

Wednesday, March 8, 2023

Recycling/sustainable textiles

08:00 - 08:30 am MT     10:00 - 10:30 am EST

Sustainable technologies for green (eco-friendly) production in textile, Prof. Akbar Khaddami, Isfahan University of Technology, Iran/ University of Alberta, AB

08:30 - 09:00 am MT     10:30 - 11:00 am EST

Closed Loop Recycling of Used Aramid Garments and Fabrics, Mr. Dave Kasper, General Recycled, QC.

Sportswear

09:00 - 09:30 am MT     11:00 - 11:30 am EST

Smart sportswear for optimized thermal comfort, Prof. René Rossi, EMPA, Switzerland

09:30 - 10:00 am MT     11:30 - 12:00 pm EST

The tools, tactics, and philosophies behind lululemon apparel innovation, Dr. Robert Gathercole, lululemon, BC

Poster Session/Networking/Pause

10:00 - 11:00 am MT     12:00 - 01:00 pm EST

Poster session in Edmonton, Pause (lunch break)  in Montréal.

Smart/e-textiles

11:00 - 11:30 am MT     01:00 - 01:30 pm EST

Presentation title to be announced soon, Prof. Lucy Dunne, University of Minnesota, USA

11:30 - 12:00 pm MT     01:30 - 02:00 pm EST

Making millions: How we scale Smart Textiles using Technical Embroidery, Mr. Christopher Anderson, ZSK USA Inc., USA

Poster Session/Networking/Pause

12:00 - 01:00 pm MT     02:00 - 03:00 pm EST

Pause (lunch break)  in  Edmonton, Poster session in Montréal.

Panel Discussion

01:00 - 01:30 pm MT     03:00 - 03:30 pm EST

Challenges and opportunities for the textile business/industry - Regulatory compliance​​​.

Students' Research Corner

01:30 - 01:45 pm MT     03:30 - 03:45 pm EST

Speaker and presentation title to be announced soon.

01:45 - 02:00 pm MT     03:45 - 04:00 pm EST

Speaker and presentation title to be announced soon.

02:00 - 02:15 pm MT     04:00 - 04:15 pm EST

Speaker and presentation title to be announced soon.

02:15 - 02:30 pm MT     04:15 - 04:30 pm EST

Speaker and presentation title to be announced soon.

Print program

 

bottom of page